The District

The Suwannee River Water Management District is one of five regional water management districts in Florida, created by the Florida Legislature through the passage of the Water Resources Act of 1972. Suwannee is the fifth largest of the state’s water management districts in terms of geographic area, population served, tax base, and agency staff.

The Suwannee River Water Management District manages water and related natural resources in north-central Florida by providing water quality and quantity monitoring, research, regulation, land acquisition and management, and flood protection. For details, please refer to our Strategic Plan or to our Business and Financial page for the current budget and work plan.

For Board Approval

DRAFT - Environmental Resource Permit Applicant's Handbook Volume II

DRAFT - Water Use Permit Applicant's Handbook

Performance Metrics

The Florida Department of Environmental Protection tracks the performance of water management districts (WMDs) on mission-critical topics, both quarterly and annually. This information is used to assess the effectiveness of work processes, such as consumptive use and environmental resource permitting, and to gauge progress toward water management district goals, such as meeting future water supply needs and protecting natural systems.

WMD Performance Metrics

Agency Final Orders

Pursuant to Section 120.53(3), F.S., the District maintains an up-to-date hierarchical subject-matter index that identifies final orders issued by the District. All final agency orders are grouped by subject matter and listed by order number. The Final Orders Index is maintained by the District’s Central Files Office and can be obtained from that office at the District’s headquarters, located at 9225 County Road 49, Live Oak, FL 32060 or by calling 386.362.1001.

Search the Division of Administrative Hearings for a list of the District’s Agency Final Orders. Use the "Search By Case Attributes" feature and keyword "SRWMD" for optimal results. 

Service Area

  • 7,640 square miles
  • All or part of 15 counties in north-central Florida
  • 13 river basins
  • A population of 360,000


  • All of: Columbia, Dixie, Gilchrist, Hamilton, Lafayette, Madison, Suwannee, Taylor, and Union.
  • Parts of: Alachua, Baker, Bradford, Jefferson, Levy, and Putnam.

Major Rivers

  • Alapaha
  • Aucilla
  • Econfina
  • Fenholloway
  • Ichetucknee
  • Santa Fe
  • Steinhatchee
  • Suwannee
  • Waccasassa
  • Wacissa
  • Withlacoochee

Map of District Boundaries

Map of District Boundaries