News Flash Home
The original item was published from 4/16/2008 3:52:47 PM to 4/26/2008 12:00:05 AM.

News Flash

Press Releases and News

Posted on: April 16, 2008

[ARCHIVED] Governor Appoints New Governing Board Members

Governor Charlie Crist recently appointed two members to the Suwannee River Water Management District governing board.

Donald J. Quincey, Jr., of Chiefland, and Heath M. Davis, of Cedar Key, were appointed to terms that will expire in March 2012. The appointments require confirmation by the Florida Senate.

Quincey will represent the Lower Suwannee River Basin and Davis will serve as an at-large member. The two replace Kelby Andrews, of Chiefland, and Sylvia J. Tatum, of Lawtey, whose terms expired on March 1, 2008.

Quincey is owner and president of Quincey Cattle Company. He attended high school in Chiefland and earned an Associate of Arts degree from Santa Fe Community College. He is a board member and treasurer for the Florida Cattlemen’s Association.

Davis is vice president of Drummond Community Bank. Prior to banking, he was owner of the Heath Davis Crabbing Company.

Davis served as mayor of Cedar Key from 2000-2002 and continued as a city commissioner through 2007. He is founding chairman of the Cedar Key Aquaculture Association and treasurer for the Levy County Schools Foundation and Historical Society in Cedar Key. He also is a member of the Cedar Key Lions Club.

Rounding out the District’s nine-member governing board are Louis C. Shiver, chairman, of Mayo; John Paul “J.P.” Maultsby, vice chair, of Madison; Georgia Jones, secretary-treasurer, of Lake City; Oliver J. “O.J.” Lake, of Lake City; Dr. C. Linden Davidson, of Lamont; Don Curtis, Jr., of Perry; and David Flagg, of Alachua.

Governing Board members serve four-year terms without pay.

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in Press Releases and News

Innovative Wetlands with Nature at Work

Posted on: December 8, 2020